Strategic advisory network

The strategic advisory network (SAN) is comprised of leading experts from the academic and user communities. It helps ESRC exploit opportunities and access the voice and expertise of its communities. The SAN provides:

  • detailed expert support and advice including on the design of strategies and schemes, investment management, pre- and post-award, and interventions
  • a broad perspective of advice on issues, proposals and decisions, including feedback on views within our various stakeholder groups
  • access to a pool of academic and user experts to whom the office can turn to for ad-hoc advice and advocacy and to test out new ideas
  • provision of input into general policy advice.

SAN membership

The network was established in April 2018 and is comprised of a range of leading academic and user experts from across the social sciences with membership refreshed regularly.

Read the ESRC code of practice for committee and group members.

See the strategic advisory network terms of reference.

SAN members

Member Current term ends
Professor Tim Vorley – Pro Vice-Chancellor and Dean, Oxford Brookes Business School March 2024
Dr Lígia Teixeira – Chief Executive, Centre for Homelessness Impact March 2024
David Shallcross – Impact and Evidence Manager at The Connection, St Martin’s March 2024
Dr Sharifah Sekalala – Reader and Associate Professor in Global Health Law, University of Warwick March 2024
Professor Alison Pilnick – Professor of Language, Medicine and Society in the School of Sociology and Social Policy, University of Nottingham March 2024
Professor Martyn Pickersgill – Personal Chair of the Sociology of Science and Medicine, The University of Edinburgh March 2024
Dr Gina Netto – Reader and Associate Professor in International and Forced Migration, The Urban Institute in Heriot Watt University, Edinburgh March 2024
Professor Gina Neff – Professor of Technology & Society, University of Cambridge March 2024
Amy Mount – Senior Associate, European Climate Foundation March 2024
Dr Dawn Knight – Reader in Applied Linguistics, Cardiff University March 2024
Dr Carrie Heitmeyer – Government Office for Science March 2024
Professor Geoff Haddock – Professor of Social Psychology, Cardiff University March 2024
Professor Nigel Gilbert – Director of the Centre for the Evaluation of Complexity Across the Nexus March 2024
Jayanthi Ezekiel – Policy professional and economist March 2024
Lynn Emslie – Non-Executive Director, Chair, Special Advisor and Trustee March 2024
Dr Jane Ellis-Brush – Senior Lecturer in Supply Chain Management, University of Bath’s School of Management March 2024
Professor Lee Elliot Major – Professor of Social Mobility, University of Exeter March 2024
Kezia Dugdale – Director of the John Smith Centre and a Senior Lecturer in social policy, University of Glasgow March 2024
Professor Patrick Diamond – Associate Professor of Public Policy, Queen Mary, University of London, and Director of the Mile End Institute March 2024
Professor Pamela Davis-Kean – Professor of Psychology and Associate Director of the Michigan Institute for Data Science, University of Michigan, US March 2024
Professor Andrea Cornwall – Pro-Director Research & Enterprise, SOAS, University of London March 2024


Professor Jon Coaffee – Professor of Urban Geography in the Department of Politics and International Studies, University of Warwick March 2024
Dr Iwona Bisaga – Research Associate on the Modern Energy Cooking Services Programme, Loughborough University March 2024
Simon Anderson – Independent Consultant March 2024
Professor Ruth Blakeley – Professor of Politics and International Relations, University of Sheffield March 2024
Professor Ann Berrington – Professor of Demography and Social Statistics, University of Southampton March 2024
Alexy Buck – Ministry of Justice March 2024
Professor Jackie Carter – Co-director of the Q-Step Centre and Director for Engagement with Research Methods Training, University of Manchester March 2024
Professor Tarani Chandola – Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Manchester March 2024
Professor Mary Daly – Professor of Sociology and Social Policy, University of Oxford March 2024
Professor Cristina Iannelli – Professor of Education and Social Stratification, University of Edinburgh March 2024
Professor Alice Owen – Professor in Business, Sustainability and Stakeholder Engagement, University of Leeds March 2024
Professor Ian Rivers – Associate Principal and Executive Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, University of Strathclyde March 2024


Last updated: 9 October 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback.