Research Committees


Research Committee E

Responsible for the award of fellowships and other personal awards and providing key mentoring support to Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC) fellows. Members are expected to be well respected within their field and to have demonstrable interest in supporting career development.

Research Committee E will:

  • undertake the peer review of fellowships and other personal awards, and applications for other people movement schemes according to BBSRC processes and best practice, and to provide recommendations for awards to BBSRC Executive
  • provide mentoring, support and regular feedback to fellows through face-to-face visits and meetings, through the annual progress update system and attendance at fellows’ induction seminars and the fellows conference, every second year, organised by BBSRC
  • provide input to BBSRC and its Strategy Advisory Panels and sub-groups on the recommendations it makes on the award of fellowships and other personal awards.

Research Committee E will also be represented on:

  • Research Advisory Panel through the Chair of the Committee
  • Fellowship Progress Review Group, reporting to Bioscience Skills and Careers Strategy Advisory Panel
  • cross-council Fellowships Panels
  • Training Grant Assessment Panels.

The committee meets twice a year:

  • April or May – Fellowship annual progress updates
  • October – Fellowship schemes interview shortlisting.

Additionally fellowship interviews involving members take place twice a year:

  • November – Discovery Fellowships interviews
  • December – David Phillips Fellowships interviews.


We aim to have up to 16 members (including the Chair):

  • Professor Roslyn Bill (Chair), Aston University
  • Professor Nick Roberts (Deputy Chair), University of Bristol
  • Professor Tim Brown, The University of Manchester
  • Professor Lisa Collins, University of Leeds
  • Dr Susan Critchlow, AstraZeneca
  • Professor Seth Davis, University of York
  • Professor Lin Field, Rothamsted Research
  • Professor Denise Fitzgerald, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Dr Anthony Flemming, Syngenta
  • Dr Peter Levison, Independent
  • Professor Nicolas Locker, University of Surrey
  • Professor Frank Sargent, Newcastle University
  • Professor Mark Smales, University of Kent
  • Professor Nicola Stanley-Wall, University of Dundee
  • Professor Krasimira Tsaneva-Atanasova, University of Exeter
  • Dr Mark Webber, Quadram Institute

Meeting dates


  • 12 May
  • 6-7 October
  • 10-11 November (Discovery Fellowship interviews)
  • 8-9 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


  • 9 May
  • 9-10 October
  • 12-13 November (Discovery Fellowship interviews)
  • 2-3 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


  • 10 May
  • 17-18 October
  • 15-16 November (Discovery Fellowship interviews)
  • 6-7 December (David Phillips Fellowship interviews)


Avril Ferris

Telephone: 01793 413258


Last updated: 17 August 2023

This is the website for UKRI: our seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK. Let us know if you have feedback.