Alternative Uses Group

The Alternative Uses Group (AUG) is co-developed in partnership with Universities UK (UUK). This group complements the efforts of the Joint Funders Group (JFG) and explores the alternative applications of Royal Society’s Résumé for Researchers (R4R)-like CV in the assessment of people. For example, hiring and promotion.

The R4RI-like narrative CV approach will help us ensure we are attracting and retaining the full range of the most promising research and innovation talent. This will enable the diverse research and development workforce to demonstrate:

  • who they are as individuals
  • how they contribute to teams and the wider research and innovation endeavour.

In doing so it will transform who and what is visible and valued, beyond grant and publication records.

The group will be sharing learning and best practice to help others engage with the narrative CV.

Get in touch

Contact us to find out more about the AUG group

Email: culture@ukri.org

Membership

Organisations contributing are outlined below.

University of York

Matthias Ruth

Pro Vice Chancellor for Research

Email: matthias.ruth@york.ac.uk

Durham University

Jane Macnaughton

Deputy Vice Provost for Research

Email: jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk

Edinburgh Napier University

Lindsay Ramage

Head of Research Governance

Email: l.ramage@napier.ac.uk

University of Cambridge

Liz Simmonds

Assistant Head, Postdoc Academy, Operational Lead for Research Culture

Email: elw27@cam.ac.uk

University of Liverpool

Laura Harkness-Brennan

Associate Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Impact

Email: ljh@liverpool.ac.uk

Anthony Hollander

Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Impact

Email: aholla@liverpool.ac.uk

University of Edinburgh

Eleanor Hennige

Research Staff Careers Consultant, Institute of Academic Development

Email: eleanor.hennige@ed.ac.uk

University of Manchester

Claire Faichnie

Researcher Development Manager

Email: claire.faichnie@manchester.ac.uk

Melissa Westwood

Associate Vice President Research

Email: melissa.westwood@manchester.ac.uk

Queen Margaret University, Edinburgh

Kim Stuart

Director of Research and Innovation

Email: kstuart@qmu.ac.uk

University of Portsmouth

Ryan Parker

Grants Officer

University of Surrey

Emily Farran

Academic Lead Research Culture and Integrity

Email: e.farran@surrey.ac.uk

Emma Francis

Careers Consultant Doctoral College

Email: e.francis@surrey.ac.uk

University of Leeds

Emma Spary

Lead for Researcher Development and Culture

Email: e.j.spary@leeds.ac.uk

Technician Commitment

Simon Breeden

Associate Lead for Technician Commitment

Email: simon.breeden@york.ac.uk

Email: s.breeden@sciencecouncil.org

University of Sheffield

Lorraine Maltby

Deputy Vice President for Research

Email: l.maltby@sheffield.ac.uk

UK Research Staff Association

Edward Smart

Senior Research Fellow

Email: edward.smart@port.ac.uk

Vitae

Katie Wheat

Head of Engagement and Policy

Email: katie.wheat@vitae.ac.uk

University of Dundee

Inke Näthke

Associate Dean for Professional Culture

Email: i.s.nathke@dundee.ac.uk

University of Dundee

Rachel Norman

Dean of Research Engagement and Performance

Email: rachel.norman@stir.ac.uk

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.