ESRC Celebrating Impact Prize


How to apply

The 2023 Celebrating Impact Prize is now open for applications.

The prize is open to current and previous Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC)-supported researchers, including doctoral students. Previous winners may submit new research impacts. There are 5 prize categories:

  • outstanding business and enterprise impact
  • outstanding early career impact
  • outstanding international impact
  • outstanding public policy impact
  • outstanding societal impact

All finalists will be invited to attend media training and have a film professionally made about their work and impact. Winners are awarded £10,000 to spend on further knowledge exchange, public engagement or other impact related activities.


Full details about the 2023 prize, eligibility, assessment criteria and categories and terms and conditions are provided in the application guidelines and frequently asked questions documents.

Application form

Apply online by 16 February 2023 at 4:00pm (Greenwich Mean Time)

SurveyMonkey: Celebrating Impact Prize 2023 application form

Celebrating Impact Prize 2023 application questions: for information only

You may also find it beneficial to look at the relevant ‘application questions: for information only’ document. Please note that details required will differ slightly when completing the online application form depending on whether an individual, joint or team application is made, or whether there is a link to an ESRC-funded data resource.

Last updated: 6 December 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.