UKRI infrastructure advisory committee

Members of the UK Research and Innovation (UKRI) infrastructure advisory committee are drawn from across:

  • higher education
  • innovation and research organisations
  • industry and commerce
  • policymaking and civil society.

It is chaired by the UKRI champion for infrastructure, Mark Thomson.

The full list of infrastructure advisory committee members and observers is:

  • Professor Mark Thomson: Executive Chair of STFC and UKRI champion for infrastructure
  • Dr Allan Sudlow: Director of Partnerships and Engagement as AHRC
  • Professor Andrew Millar FRS, FRSE: Chief Scientific Adviser, Environment, Natural Resources and Agriculture, Chair of Systems Biology at the University of Edinburgh and member of BBSRC
  • Professor Mark Spearing: Vice-President for Research and Enterprise at the University of Southampton
  • Professor James Banks: Professor of Economics at the University of Manchester
  • Tunde Olanrewaju: Senior Partner at McKinsey and Company, and trustee of Oxfam GB
  • Professor Patrick Chinnery FRCP, FRCPath, FMedSci: Professor of Neurology and Head of the Department of Clinical Neurosciences at the University of Cambridge, and Clinical Director of MRC
  • Nigel Bird: Director of Major Programmes and Senior Responsible Officer for the Antarctic Infrastructure Modernisation Programme at NERC
  • Alex Herbert: Associate Director of Research Funding at Research England
  • Anna Lang: Associate Director of Research Funding at Research England
  • Professor Sheila Rowan CBE, FRS, FRSE, FInstP: Chief Scientific Advisor for Scotland and Director of the Institute for Gravitational Research at the University of Glasgow
  • Dame Frances Saunders DBE, CB, FREng, FInstP: Chair of the Facilities Strategic Advisory Group and member of STFC
  • Professor Brian Foster OBE, FRS: Donald H. Perkins Professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Oxford, Alexander von Humboldt Professor at the University of Hamburg and Emeritus Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Bristol
  • Sir Richard Lambert: Chairman of the British Museum and of Bloomsbury Publishing
  • Dr Riitta Maijala: Vice President of the Academy of Finland, Helsinki
  • Professor Malcolm Skingle CBE, DSc, PhD, HonFBPhS: Director Academic Liaison at GlaxoSmithKline
  • Dr Bryony Butland OBE: UKRI Infrastructure Director
  • Ruth Elliot: Finance and Commercial Director at UKRI (observer)
  • Dr Shabana Haque OBE: Deputy Director Research Infrastructure a the Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Last updated: 26 July 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.