STFC large and/or complex projects

We will fund new, large and/or complex projects in the fields we support, such as:

  • participation in new experiments or missions
  • development of new instruments
  • upgrades to existing detectors
  • ongoing operation of existing facilities.

If you are interested in applying, you need to first discuss your ideas with one of our programme managers.

Who can apply

When you speak to the programme manager, they will advise you on specific eligibility requirements, and whether to submit a statement of interest to the council’s Science Board.

What we're looking for

We support large and/or complex projects that have significant scientific priority in:

  • particle physics
  • nuclear physics
  • astronomy
  • particle astrophysics
  • accelerator physics
  • computing for physics.

The UK Space Agency funds any projects that fall within its remit. This may include:

  • the development of space technology (above TRL 4)
  • space exploration, within the UKSA’s Aurora Programme
  • post-launch support for Space Missions during their operational phase.

Visit the UK Space Agency website for full details of their remit.

How to apply

You must first contact the relevant programme manager, their details are listed in the ‘contacts’ section. With them, you need to discuss your proposed programme.

Statement of interest deadline Science board meeting
Monday 1 February 2021 Tuesday 23 – Wednesday 24 February 2021
Monday 29 March 2021 Tuesday 20 – Wednesday 21 April 2021
Monday 21 June 2021 Tuesday 13 – Wednesday 14 July 2021
Monday 20 September 2021 Tuesday 12 – Wednesday 13 October 2021
Monday 15 November 2021 Tuesday 7 – Wednesday 8 December 2021

Once the programme manager agrees, they will invite you to submit a statement of interest to the council’s Science Board. Your statement of interest must include key scientific aims and a full economic cost of the proposed programme of work.

The Executive and Science Board committee will then inform you on whether or not a full proposal will be invited. If invited, please apply to one of the following Projects Peer Review Panel (PPRP) deadlines:

Round Opportunity opens on Je-S Opportunity closes on Je-S PPRP meeting
PPRP Round 1 2021 Thursday 22 October 2020 Thursday 26 November 2020 Monday 22 February 2021
PPRP Round 2 2021 Thursday 10 December 2020 Thursday 28 January 2021 Monday 26 – Tuesday 27 April 2021
PPRP Round 3 2021 Thursday 25 February 2021 Wednesday 7 April 2021 Wednesday 7 – Thursday 8 July 2021
PPRP Round 4 2021 Thursday 3 June 2021 Thursday 15 July 2021 Wednesday 6 – Thursday 7 October 2021
PPRP Round 5 2021 Wednesday 28 July 2021 Wednesday 8 September 2021 Thursday 2 – Friday 3 December 2021

See the full guidance on applying for a large project.

How we will assess your application

Statements of interest are reviewed by the STFC Science Board, which provides us with a strategic scientific overview of all the programmes we support.

If your project proceeds to a full proposal, it will go to our Projects Peer Review Panel. The panel’s findings are reported to the Science Board, which makes a recommendation to the STFC executive.

The UK Space Agency reviews statements of interest and full proposals for any projects within its remit. Final decisions on them will be taken by the UK Space Agency executive.

You will receive full details of the assessment process if you are invited to make an application.

 

Contact details

Senior Programme Manager and Projects Peer Review Panel Secretary
christopher.carlton@stfc.ukri.org

Advisory Board and Strategy Manager (Science Board)
karen.clifford@stfc.ukri.org

Head of Nuclear Physics and Particle Astrophysics
jenny.hiscock@stfc.ukri.org

Head of Particle Physics
sarah.verth@stfc.ukri.org

Head of Astronomy Facilities
chris.woolford@stfc.ukri.org

Senior Programme Manager Accelerators
david.brown@stfc.ukri.org

Senior Programme Managers Digital Research Infrastructure
sarah.garlick@stfc.ukri.org
david.brown@stfc.ukri.org

Science Programme Manager UK Space Agency
rosemary.young@ukspaceagency.bis.gsi.gov.uk

Science Programme Manager UK Space Agency
Louise.Ingram@ukspaceagency.gov.uk

Additional info

Supporting documents

NOTEThis is the first phase of our new website – let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.