About us and contacts - MRC

The MRC Regulatory Support Centre provides support and guidance on the legal and ethical requirements for research involving human participants, their tissues, or data. We work with the academic research community to support high quality research and ensure policy makers hear the voice of the researcher.

Supporting high quality research

We empower the research community by:

  • improving understanding of legal and ethical requirements through practical guidance and learning
  • bringing the research community together to share good practice, and risk proportionate approaches to implement requirements
  • providing up-to-date information on the changing regulatory landscape.

Sign up for our quarterly newsletters

Email: rsc@mrc.ukri.org

Creating a better research environment

At the Regulatory Support Centre, we:

  • work in partnership with regulatory authorities and policy makers, to help shape a landscape that fosters research
  • we use evidence about the impact of regulatory requirements on research to influence policy
  • we promote the implementation of effective regulation informed by public opinion and ethical principles.

How to contact us

MRC Regulatory Support Centre

Address

University of Edinburgh, 1 George Square, Edinburgh EH8 9JZ

Telephone

0131 651 5062

Email

rsc@mrc.ukri.org

Speak to a member of the team

Karen Jameson, Regulatory Support Centre Administrator

Email: karen.jameson@mrc.ukri.org

Sarah Dickson, Head of Regulatory Support Centre

Email: sarah.dickson@mrc.ukri.org

Alex Bailey, Programme Manager: Data Access and Evidence

Email: alex.bailey@mrc.ukri.org

Anne Chapman, Programme Manager: Product Development and Learning

Email: anne.chapman@mrc.ukri.org

Heather Coupar, Programme Manager: Advice, Communications and Human Tissue

Email: heather.coupar@mrc.ukri.org

Rachel Robertson, Web and Learning Development Manager

Email: rachel.robertson@mrc.ukri.org

How we use your data

You can find out how the MRC Regulatory Support Centre uses the ‘personal data’ we hold, in our privacy notices.

Last updated: 5 April 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.