Strategic Review of Particle Physics Panel

On the advice of Council, the Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC) is undertaking a strategic review of particle physics to ensure the long-term health of the subject in the UK. This light-touch review will evaluate data relating to the evolution of the programme of the last 10 years to refresh the underpinning guidance used by STFC advisory committees and programme managers. It will not prioritise individual projects and will consider the balance between research and development, capital construction, maintenance and operations, and scientific exploitation.

The panel will meet over the course of summer 2022 with the intention of submitting their report to Council in the autumn.

Panel members

  • Brian Foster (Chair) – Oxford University
  • Sinead Farrington – University of Edinburgh
  • Nigel Glover – Durham University
  • Mark Lancaster – University of Manchester
  • Jocelyn Monroe – Royal Holloway University of London
  • Monica D’Onofrio – University of Liverpool
  • Mitesh Patel – Imperial College London
  • Alfons Weber – University of Mainz.

See the panel terms of reference.


Charlotte Jamieson


Last updated: 31 March 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.