Our structure


Council members

Each council is led by an Executive Chair advised by a council of external members. Our nine councils work with their research and innovation communities and wider stakeholders to develop and implement delivery plans that contribute to delivering our strategic objectives.

Members include representatives from the academic community, business, civil and public sector. They meet regularly and report to the Executive Committee.

Arts and Humanities Research Council members

Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council members

Economic and Social Research Council members

Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council members

Innovate UK members

Medical Research Council members

Natural Environment Research Council members

Research England members

Science and Technology Facilities Council members

Last updated: 24 September 2021

NOTE Council web content is being transitioned to this website – let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.