NERC head office

The NERC head office provides corporate leadership and coordinates strategy, planning, performance management, reporting and external relations for the whole of NERC.

Head office teams support NERC’s funding role, develop policy and administer funding to universities and public sector research institutes. The head office also provides support services including finance, IT, people, estates and communications.

Our Executive Chair and operational directors are based in Swindon.

Executive Chair

Professor Sir Duncan Wingham

Email: duncan.wingham@nerc.ukri.org

Directors

Ms Alison Robinson, Deputy Executive Chair and Director of Corporate Affairs

Email: alison.robinson@nerc.ukri.org

Dr Iain Williams, Director of Strategic Partnerships

Email: iain.williams@nerc.ukri.org

Mr Nigel Bird, Director of Major Programmes

Email: nigel.bird@nerc.ukri.org

Professor Susan Waldron, Director of Research & Skills

Email: susan.waldron@nerc.ukri.org

Associate Directors

Dr Hannah Collins, Associate Director, Engagement and Futures Programmes

Email: hannah.collins@nerc.ukri.org

Corrina Urquhart, Associate Director – Strategy & Insight (Corporate Affairs)

Email: corrina.urquhart@nerc.ukri.org

Mrs Maraki Mikroudaki, Associate Director, COP26 Stakeholder Engagement

Email: maraki.mikroudaki@nerc.ukri.org

Mrs Michaela Simpson, Head of Head Office Operations

Email: michaela.simpson@nerc.ukri.org

Mr Rob Gillies, Associate Director, UKRI Sustainability

Email: rob.gillies@nerc.ukri.org

Mr Robyn Thomas, Associate Director, Discovery Science, Talent & Skills

Email: robyn.thomas@nerc.ukri.org

Dr Sarah Turner, Associate Director, Strategic Programme Delivery

Email: sarah.turner@nerc.ukri.org

Dr Sarah Webb, Associate Director, International

Email: sarah.webb@nerc.ukri.org

Dr Sophie Laurie, Associate Director of Interdisciplinary Capability

Email: sophie.laurie@nerc.ukri.org

Dr Jen Jennings, Associate Director, Strategic Programme Generation

Email: jennifer.jennings@nerc.ukri.org

Last updated: 7 June 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.