Contact NERC

We share some contact information with UK Research and Innovation. This includes contact details to:

  • get advice on your grant (including Je-S and post award)
  • make a freedom of information request
  • make a request for personal information
  • make a complaint
  • report fraud
  • contact the media team
  • contact an international office
  • make a general enquiry.

NERC head office

We are based in the Swindon office.

Find out more information on the office address, how to get there and parking available.

General enquiries

Telephone: 01793 411500

If you know the name of the person you wish to contact

Email: firstname.lastname@nerc.ukri.org.

Peer review

Find more information about our peer review college.

Funding enquiries

Contacts for advice on any aspect of pre-award processing and peer review of NERC proposals and NERC funding awards policy.

Research grants

Email: researchgrants@nerc.ukri.org

Peer review college

Email: college@nerc.ukri.org

Fellowships

Email: fellowships@nerc.ukri.org

Studentships

Email: researchcareers@nerc.ukri.org

Remit

Contact us at an early stage if you’re not sure whether your proposed research fits the NERC remit. You can send an outline of the proposed research by sending the remit enquiry form (up to two pages, including summary and objectives) to:

Email: nercremit@nerc.ukri.org

If we think the proposal includes multidisciplinary cross-council elements, we will forward the outline to other research councils as appropriate, unless you request us not to do so.

Science areas

Atmospheric and polar

Lizzie Garratt, Head of Research (Atmospheric and Polar)

Email: lizzie.garratt@nerc.ukri.org

Jessica Surma, Senior Programme Manager (Polar)

Email: jessica.surma@nerc.ukri.org

Simon Howe, Senior Programme Manager (Atmospheric)

Email: simon.howe@nerc.ukri.org

Jennifer Morris, Programme Manager (Polar and Polar logistics)

Email: jennifer.morris@nerc.ukri.org

Joseph Taylor, Programme Manager (Atmospheric)

Email: joseph.taylor@nerc.ukri.org

Earth and energy (including science-based archaeology)

Beth House, Head of Research (Earth and Energy)

Email: beth.house@nerc.ukri.org

Rebecca Scott, Senior Programme Manager (Earth Sciences and Subsurface Energy)

Email: rebecca.scott@nerc.ukri.org

Lisa Bettington, Senior Programme Manager (Renewable Energy)

Email: lisa.bettington@nerc.ukri.org

Charlotte Hawkins, Programme Manager (Earth)

Email: charlotte.hawkins@nerc.ukri.org

Ritwika Sengupta, Programme Manager (Energy)

Email: ritwika.sengupta@nerc.ukri.org

Environment and health

Caroline Culshaw, Head of Research (Environment and Health)

Email: caroline.culshaw@nerc.ukri.org

Lisa Hole, Programme Manager

Email: lisa.hole@nerc.ukri.org

Boudewijn Dominicus, Programme Manager

Email: boudewijn.dominicus@nerc.ukri.org

Marine

Mike Webb, Head of Research (Marine)

Email: michael.webb@nerc.ukri.org

Jessica Surma, Senior Programme Manager

Email: jessica.surma@nerc.ukri.org

Terrestrial ecosystems (including Earth observation)

Simon Kerley, Head of Research (Terrestrial Ecosystems)

Email: simon.kerley@nerc.ukri.org

Weihao Zhong, Senior Programme Manager (Terrestrial ecosystems)

Email: weihao.zhong@nerc.ukri.org

Tom Doyle, Senior Programme Manager (Earth observation)

Email: tom.doyle@nerc.ukri.org

Lucy Hopewell, Programme Manager

Email: lucy.hopewell@nerc.ukri.org

Jennifer Wickens, Programme Manager

Email: jennifer.wickens@nerc.ukri.org

Water

Ruth Kelman, Head of Research (Water)

Email: ruth.kelman@nerc.ukri.org

Mieke de Wit, Senior Programme Manager

Email: mieke.dewit@nerc.ukri.org

Daniel Knight, Programme Manager

Email: daniel.knight@nerc.ukri.org

Kay Heuser, Programme Manager

Email: kay.heuser@nerc.ukri.org

Last updated: 21 June 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.