Applied Global Health Research Board

Board membership from April 2020

  • Professor Catherine Law (Chair), University College London Institute of Child Health
  • Professor Abe Fekadu, Addis Ababa University
  • Professor Anne Mills, London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Azra Ghani, Imperial College London
  • Dr Camila Corvalan, University of Chile
  • Dr Carlota Monroy, University of San Carlos of Guatemala
  • Dr Catherine Kyobutungi, African Population and Health Research Center
  • Professor David Lalloo, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Dixon Chibanda, University of Zimbabwe
  • Professor Frances Cowan, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine
  • Professor Freddie Ssengooba, Makerere University
  • Professor Helen Lambert, University of Bristol
  • Professor Ibrahim Abubakar, University College London
  • Dr Kandala Ngianga-Bakwin, Warwick University
  • Professor Lai Meng Looi, University of Malaya
  • Professor Laurence Moore, University of Glasgow
  • Professor Lisa Dikomitis, University of Kent
  • Professor Lucilla Poston, King’s College London
  • Professor Majid Ezzati, Imperial College London
  • Professor Malabika Sarker, BRAC University
  • Professor Nyovani Madise, African Institute for Development Policy
  • Professor Richard Sullivan, King’s College London
  • Professor Shakila Thangaratinam, University of Birmingham
  • Dr Shams El Arifeen, International Centre for Diarrhoeal Disease Research, Bangladesh
  • Professor Stephen Sutton, University of Cambridge
  • Professor Tazeen Jafar, Duke Global Health Institute
  • Professor Victor Mwapasa, University of Malawi, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

See the Applied Global Health Research Board conflicts of interest register.


For general pre-award policy enquiries, go to the Research Funding Policy and Delivery team:

For questions on eligibility of your global health proposal, including if you are unsure which Board to apply to, please contact

For board operation and peer review enquiries, contact:

Last updated: 31 March 2022

This is the integrated website of the seven research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.