How Innovate UK is governed

Our work is overseen by a council, which sets overall objectives and direction. The Council meets six times a year.

Council members

The members are:

  • Matt Clifford MBE
  • Juliet Davenport OBE
  • Dr John Fingleton CBE – Senior Independent Member
  • Isabel Fox
  • Chris Ganje
  • John Gibson
  • Priya Guha MBE
  • Professor John Latham CBE
  • Tunde Olanrewaju
  • Sir William Sargent
  • Dr Mike Short CBE – Chief Scientific Adviser.

Members have a range of expertise in research and innovation that is drawn across business, entrepreneurship, investment, technology, economics and business impact evaluation. They also have different characteristics and professional backgrounds.

More information


Council meeting minutes

Review all meeting minutes from 2021.

Meetings from before this date are available on the UK Government Web Archive.

Innovate UK executive management team

Our executive management team leads a team of around 300 technologists, business specialists and support staff to make sure we meet our objectives.

Executive management team members

The members are:

Last updated: 20 January 2022

NOTE Council web content is being transitioned to this website – let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.