Research Committees


Research Committee C

Genes, development and STEM approaches to biology

Committee C will consider generic STEM approaches to biology. Specific applications will be considered by the committee providing the appropriate biological context.

For research topics covered by each research committee and to apply for funding visit our Responsive mode research grants and Guidance for applicants pages.

Core members

  • Professor Lorna Harries – University of Exeter (Chair)
  • Professor Corinne Houart – King’s College London (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Helen Parkinson – European Bioinformatics Institute (Deputy Chair)
  • Dr Nazif Alic – University College London
  • Professor Thorsten Allers – University of Nottingham
  • Professor Ruth Baker – University of Oxford
  • Professor Rainer Breitling – The University of Manchester
  • Dr Alessia Buscaino – University of Kent
  • Dr Kyra Campbell – University of Sheffield
  • Professor Tracey Chapman – University of East Anglia
  • Professor Shaun Cowley – University of Leicester
  • Dr Robert Davey – Earlham Institute
  • Professor Federica Di Palma – University of East Anglia
  • Dr Stephanie Diezmann – University of Bristol
  • Professor Andrew Jones- University of Liverpool
  • Professor Nicoletta Kessaris – University College London
  • Dr Huiliang Li – University College London
  • Professor Mick Watson – University of Edinburgh
  • Dr Martyn Winn – Science and Technology Facilities Council
  • Professor Dimitrios Zevgolis – University College Dublin

For a list of members who attended the last three meetings visit committee and panel – outcomes.

Meeting dates


  • 21 March
  • 4 July
  • 10 October


  • 23 March
  • 24 June
  • 12 October


Research Committee C


Last updated: 22 November 2022

This is the integrated website of the 7 research councils, Research England and Innovate UK.
Let us know if you have feedback or would like to help us test new developments.